keeping up

Granted, having only played on the computer, my instinct told me that the up arrow should mean rotate.  It did not.

http://www.play.vg/games/6-Tetris.htmlimage

After successfully building a balancing tower that any child playing with those huge shaped blocks would be proud of, I let my third of the screen flash the epic fail sign and settled in to watch the other two. 

Their strategies were similar, to each other that is- strategies that, to my defense, would not work in the only setting I knew.  At least on this site, no trading allowed- you get what you get and deal with it. 

image

Even if I had had that chance though, I can guarantee I would not have been nearly as structured, nearly as picky, each piece in its own color coded pile.

That’s why I was watching theirs instead of my own.  

 

As classic as it is, as many memories playing on that old computer at grandpa’s, as much as I can enjoy it, Tetris is not my game.

 

 

In Tetris, the goal is to not lose for as long as possible.  Take things as they come and know what to do with them.  Think on the spot. 

 

imageIt can be addicting, but I find it boring when I’m keeping up and overwhelming when I’m not.  I give in quickly, after two or three horribly misplaced blocks (as when the block drops when the intention was to rotate) I just press and hold down. 

If its not possible its not possible.

 

Spider solitare has fireworks at the end.  There is an end; a specific goal.  There’s image an undo button.  There’s the chance to stop and start back up again in an hour; a chance to stop and really look.

 

It’s not about the affirmation though. 

 

I prefer spider solitaire because I can take my time, have everything spread out, and pick and choose relatively wisely, knowing which specific pieces I have to work with.  I can clean up what’s in front of me before choosing to let anything else in.  

 

image The Tetris master I know makes making color coded piles look effortless. 

Stay on top of the mess before it has a chance to build up.  Apparently his room is always clean. 

 

In spider solitaire, I start with a mess and then clean it up. It’s not so messy that it piles up to an overwhelming point, the game over of the tetris world, but inevitably like this room, stuff flies out of the draw pile at a surprisingly fast rate, and then I get to take a look at what I’ve got and tweak and move and prioritize which piles can stay and which have to go now.

 

image

 

For this, yes.

To each their own.

 

 

  Both games have a philosophy.  Perhaps a grouping of them, a following, studies, followers.  Both games have people who are naturally inclined to be good at them.

 

image

 

When I clean, it first looks messier because I spread everything out and then pick a spot one thing at a time.  By the time I clean, another pile on the floor can’t hurt.

 

The tetris king would be horrified at the very thought.

Enhanced by Zemanta
