Next Post

December 5th

Uselessness – Part 2

 

Part 1

Only later did I realize that my tickets were thrown away and brand spankin’ new ones were given out to those who dared take them.  The teachers had a storehouse hidden away somewhere and didn’t need or want my leftovers.

 

I told that story for a reason.  I have not forgotten.

 

“When I stand before God at the end of my life, I would hope that I would not have a single bit of talent left, and could say, “I used everything you gave me.”

– Erma Bombeck

 

& that’s where I get stuck.

talent.  talents.  coins.  Matthew something something through something else.

Use it or lose it.  What else is there to say?

 

Still, I wrote Part 1 knowing full well that there had to be a second half.  A challenge to use resources and to see them as blessings given for the sake of being given out.  A plea to accept and realize and appreciate how fortunate we are, to not flaunt, but to not be ashamed or to feel guilty either.  We are not only allowed, but we are supposed to enjoy what we have been given. Enjoy and share.

& that’s where I get stuck once more.

 

It’s not that I have a hard time sharing, that I don’t like to give, that I want what I want and am used to getting it. Yes, as the only girl I haven’t had to share as much as most, but I know that what I have is not truly mine.  That’s not the problem.

Leave a Reply

