Tell me of a great book you have read

Thursday, June 03, 2010

10:57 AM

“Writing won’t go far if you have never fallen in love with a book”

I used to be an avid reader, or at least I used to claim that I enjoyed it. Perhaps I read because of the Accelerated Reader program at school, but that only explains one year, 6th grade, where I still ended up in 7th place after having my nose buried in a book for the majority of the year.

Maybe because the highest points were assigned to the Redwall books, that’s almost all I can remember reading, and I have to admit those mice didn’t steal my heart, grab my attention. All I remember is I read them and passed the test.

I loved Rats of Nymh, but again that was oh so long ago. Maniac McGee, Trumpter’s Swan, Mr. Poppins Penguins. The classics.

My favorite book would probably be The Monster at the End of this Book. To even think of reading it aloud and having it read to me makes me smile.

My English AP classes brought out a few more classics, many of which I honestly did enjoy, but my child-hood automatic answer of “what do you do in your free time” has shamefully disintegrated, just like the dream of being one of them- one of those people who can tell a story.

Now all I read is non- fiction, stuff I feel I already know. Maybe with the revived dream of writing, it’ll reawaken my desire to read those I envy.

